File Menu
Synchronize Datafiles

iData Kwik lets you synchronize pairs of datafiles. This makes it easy to have one copy on a desktop machine and another on a laptop, or on a different desktop machine, and keep the two datafiles in sync, even when changes are made to both copies.

Datafiles can be synced between two Macs over a local network (or between two different folders on the same Mac). To learn how to do this, go to Synchronizing Datafiles Between Two Macs.

Datafiles can also be synced between a Mac and iData Kwik-M on Apple mobile devices, such as the iPhone and iPad. To learn how to do this, go to Synchronizing Datafiles Between a Mac and Apple Mobile Devices

The synchronization process requires that we begin with a single datafile, make a copy of it, and add a way of identifying that the two datafiles are synchronize-able. This last is accomplished by adding an unique internal identifier, the "Sync ID", to each of the datafiles.

NOTE: Once a datafile has a Sync ID, it is no longer possible to add or delete fields, so be sure that your datafile has the exact field structure that you require before creating a sync file for it. (However, you can always remove the Sync ID if you absolutely must change the field structure.)

Removing the Sync ID

iData Kwik recognizes a synchronized datafile by an internal Sync ID that is stored in each of a pair of synchronized datafiles.

Synchronized datafiles cannot have fields added or deleted. If you have a synchronized datafile that no longer needs to be synchronized, and you want to modify the field structure, you can remove the Sync ID, as follows:

1. Open the datafile that you want to de-synchronize. Make sure that you have the correct datafile.

2. Select Remove Sync ID in the File menu. This will open a window asking if you're sure you want to remove it.

3. Click the Remove It button.

Once the Sync ID has been removed, this datafile will no longer synchronize with its current Sync File.

This change will become permanent the next time you save changes to the datafile. If you decide that you've made a mistake, close the datafile without saving changes.

If both datafiles still exist, you will probably want to remove the Sync ID from the other datafile, as well.

If you make changes only to one of a pair of formerly synchronized datafiles, you can delete the other one and create a new sync file for the modified datafile.

 Return to Main Help Page